Welcome to the discussion forum of Ða Engliscan Gesiðas for all matters relating to the history, language and culture of Anglo-Saxon England. I hope it will provide a useful source of information, stimulate research, and be of real help. Ða Engliscan Gesiðas (The English Companions) maintains a strictly neutral line on all modern and current political and religious matters and it does not follow any particular interpretation of history. Transgression of this Rule will not be tolerated. Any posts which are perceived as breaking this Rule will be deleted with immediate effect without explanation.

Author Topic: Norse Words?  (Read 7801 times)

Jayson

• Hlaford
  • Knowledge is of no use unless it is passed on...
Norse Words?
« on: September 29, 2014, 04:05:30 AM »
http://www.babbel.com/magazine/139-norse-words?slc=engmag-a17-info-139norsewords-tb
I'm not sure whether I agree with what is being said on this site, but then I am not an expert.  What do you experts think about it?
Wessex Woman

Eanflaed

• Ealdormann
Re: Norse Words?
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2014, 09:59:43 AM »
I wish I was an expert (cue you guys who are!) but I think he's overstating the Viking influence. I read somewhere that OE has a word hoard of 25,000, so even a few hundred Viking words are a drop in the ocean. I also read once that OE consisted of only 3% loan words. And please don't get me started on the days of the week again!!

Steve

« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2014, 06:30:08 PM »
I missed your posts on the days of the week, they sound interesting.  When were they posted?

Eanflaed

• Ealdormann
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2014, 12:09:39 PM »
Hi Steve - the thread is under General Discussion, posted around March 22nd and titled "Days of the Week". The Gesiðas have an excellent handout about the days of the week, a copy of which I pinched last year at the Battle of Stamford Bridge Festival and have subsequently emailed to several interested parties.

Horsa